Select Page

Top 10 Favourite Book Collections: A Reading List Treasure for Those Who Are Searching What to Read Next – Part 2

Top 10 Favourite Book Collections: A Reading List Treasure for Those Who Are Searching What to Read Next – Part 2

Everyone has their own personal top list of favourite books. Written by the greatest literary minds of their time, these books have unique themes, great characters, unforgettable experiences, extreme emotions and engaging story lines that will be relevant throughout the ages. Some of them are the very inspiration from which this entire list have sprung up from. This is a reading list for people who don’t have time for unimportant books. Extracted from the most enthusiastic readers from Reddit, you’ll only find the best books to read in each category. You can be sure that each one is fantastic and will be worth your time.

This post is a reading list, sharing the best books to read in various categories based on many hours of reading and research by the wonderful Redditors. You’ll find hundreds of good books to read, organized by category. Unfortunately, we’ll be breaking those into smaller part of 10, so you’ll get 10 totally different collections of 10 different titles. This list is totally random, coming from an extremely random reading habits and styles from a random reader. Having said that, some Top 10 may not be your Top 10, but a nice starting place to randomly pick a new book to read.

Avid readers, and even casual readers will all have different opinions on which novel is truly the “greatest book ever written.” If you need a new book to add to your reading list, look no further than this roundup of the best books that caught the attention of many. Also, stay tuned for the other parts in the near future. Click on the book cover for a larger version as well to know the full title / author.

This is the second part of this Top 10 Favourite Book Series. If you’ve missed out the first part, click here to jump straight to the post.

01.ONE

top 10 favourite books

By u/Rourensu

Shogun by James Clavell
IT by Stephen King
The Talisman by Stephen King and Peter Straub
American Gods by Neil Gaiman
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
A Separate Peace by John Knowles
Tunnel in the Sky by Robert Heinlein
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon
A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
02.TWO

top 10 favourite books

By u/owhatakiwi

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien
After by Varian Krylov
The Stand by Stephen King
The Poppy War by R.F Kuang
A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
The Last Hour Of Gann by R. Lee Smith
American Gods by Neil Gaiman
03.THREE

top 10 favourite books

By u/huncamuncamouse

The Boys of my Youth by Jo Ann Beard
The Wrong Way to Save Your Life by Megan Stielstra
The White Album by Joan Didion
Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward
Beloved by Toni Morrison
The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
Ada or Ardor by Vladimir Nabokov
Once Upon a River by Bonnie Jo Campbell
The Faraway Nearby by Rebecca Solnit
The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
04.FOUR

top 10 favourite books

By u/Bjorn2Kill

The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara
The Things They Carried by Tim O'Brien
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
A Bell for Adano by John Hersey
Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein
The Idiot by Fydor Dostoyevsky
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
April Blood by Lauro Martines
Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R Tolkien
05.FIVE

top 10 favourite books

By u/LuminaTitan

Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
Silence by Shusake Endo
Ubik by Philip K. Dick
Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
The Worthing Saga by Orson Scott Card
The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
The Last Temptation of Christ by Nikos Kazantzakis
I, Claudius by Robert Graves
06.SIX

top 10 favourite books

By u/kellaaai

His Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman
The Stand by Stephen King
House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski
Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson
Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien
Time Travellers Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Mortal Engines by Phillip Reeve
The Southern Reach trilogy by Jeff Vandermeer
Lisey’s Story by Stephen King
The Drawing of the Three by Stephen King
07.SEVEN

top 10 favourite books

By u/Pufflehuffy

Harry Potter by JK Rowling
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
Game of Thrones by GRR Martin
Just One Damned Thing after Another by Jodi Taylor
East of Eden by John Steibeck
Lamb by Christopher Moore
The Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein
Captain Corelli's Mandolin by Louis de Bernières
Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult
08.EIGHT

top 10 favourite books

By u/neresque

Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
The Valley of Fear by Arthur Conan Doyle
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
And Then Here Were None by Agatha Christie
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
Atonement by Ian McEwan
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
09.NINE

top 10 favourite books

By u/nakedreader_ga

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard
A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway
Islands in the Stream by Ernest Hemingway
An Instance on the Fingerpost by Iain Pears
Peter the Great: His Life and World by Robert K. Massie
The Complete Stories of Flannery O'Connor by
Seven Types of Ambiguity by Eliot Perlman
The Secret History by Donna Tartt
All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews
10.TEN

top 10 favourite books

By u/jalahlah

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
World Without End by Ken Follett
Storm of Swords by George RR Martin
Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice
Good Omens by Neil Gaimen / Terry Pratchett
God is Not Great by Christopher Hitchens
The Count of Monte Cristo by A. Dumas
This is the second part of this Top 10 Favourite Book Series. If you’ve missed out the first part, click here to jump straight to the post.

LOVE BOOKWORM VIDEOS?

Watch videos about books, reading and writing. Expect weird, amazing, never known before facts and many more.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest posts and news.

You have Successfully Subscribed!